Play to Your Strengths

Today, I am traveling down I-81 to drop off my son for his freshman year of college. This post is appropriate, since my husband and son have packed our vehicle with everything (I think) he will need to survive college dorm living. I miss him already.

I am a pretty organized person. I like things that way. With organization being one of my strengths, I manage our household. My husband has average organizing skills. He does fine in the everyday, but is happy to delegate the household management to me because he realizes it one of my strong points.

There is one organizing task that he does far better than me. It is packing the car for a trip. I don’t know why. I am a very visual and space oriented person, so it amazes me that I can’t pack the trunk with the same ease that I can pack the dishwasher.

Packing the car is one task that I gladly delegate to him. I make sure everything makes it to the car, and then I step back and let him do his thing. It amazes me every time. He manages to get everything in with ease.

It’s nice to know that that responsibility is his and I don’t worry about it. That’s why I say, play to your strengths! Do what you are good at and delegate the things that frustrate you or trip you up. By delegating the packing of the trunk I can start a trip out feeling great and with all my stuff packed nicely in the trunk!

About Basic Organization

Basic Organization provides professional organizing services to busy families, business owners, down sizing seniors and the chronically disorganized. We can teach you the skills to get organized and live a more simplified life. By providing you with ideas, information, structure and solutions to help you regain control of your space, we can cure the chaos in you life!
This entry was posted in Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Play to Your Strengths

  1. Juli Monroe says:

    Good luck with the trip down 81. I hope your trip is better than ours was down 95 last weekend.

    But here’s the important question. Will you son allow you to arrange his college room? Mine certainly didn’t!

  2. He got very frustrated with me and his Dad while we were trying to set everything up. I know the room will never again look like it did when we left!
    He ended up in a very small room though, so the organization will help him in the end.

Leave a Reply

