A Creative Idea for a Typical Problem

Every home has an electric box. They are ugly, but necessary. They are usually in the basement or a closet or hallway. Everyone wants to cover them up, because they are not very attractive, but you still need to be able to get to them.

Years ago, when we finished our basement, we struggled with what to do with our ugly electric box that was situated right in the middle of the space we wanted to finish. What to do?

Our solution was to mount a false window in front of the box. I bought a window large enough to cover the bump-out in the wall. I wanted the window to fill the wall.

As you can see, the electric box is not in the center of the window. I was more interested in the “look” then the function.

 

 

 

 

I like the rustic look of the old window, so I didn’t change anything about the frame of the window, but I did need to do something with the glass so you wouldn’t be able to see the ugly box behind. I decided that since the window was  in an unusual spot in the basement, I didn’t want to call a lot of attention to it, so I painted the back of the glass with the same color paint was the walls.

I think it turned out great! Another creative idea that suits me, in my home. Is there anything in your home that you would like to change? I challenge you to come up with a creative solution.

About Basic Organization

Basic Organization provides professional organizing services to busy families, business owners, down sizing seniors and the chronically disorganized. We can teach you the skills to get organized and live a more simplified life. By providing you with ideas, information, structure and solutions to help you regain control of your space, we can cure the chaos in you life!
This entry was posted in Residential Organizing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Creative Idea for a Typical Problem

  1. Jacquie says:

    This is a great idea and it looks fabulous!

Leave a Reply

