Managing Recipes

I have a favorite recipe web site, allrecipes.com, which I get daily recipes emailed to me. If I want to try the recipe, I print it out. I have a small pile of untried recipes in my kitchen. Each week when I am planning my grocery list, I pull out the printed recipes and pick one or two to try. If the recipe sits in the pile too long, without being tried, it means that I probably never will use it, so I toss it out.

For dishes that make it to the dinner table, the family votes on whether the dish is a keeper or not. If not the recipe goes in the trash. If it’s a keeper, it earns the right to make it into my recipe box. I cherish my recipe box, (it was my late mother-in-laws) and it holds only my favorite recipes. I feel that in a small way, I honor her and what a good cook she was, by using her box for just what she would want.

Are you a recipe collector? How do you manage them?

About Basic Organization

Basic Organization provides professional organizing services to busy families, business owners, down sizing seniors and the chronically disorganized. We can teach you the skills to get organized and live a more simplified life. By providing you with ideas, information, structure and solutions to help you regain control of your space, we can cure the chaos in you life!
This entry was posted in Residential Organizing, Time Management. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Managing Recipes

  1. I’m not a big recipe collector, but the ones I do keep, I keep in Evernote. I have a special “recipe” tag that I use. Since I can get to my notes from phone, tablet or computer, I have them everywhere I might need them. I’ve also gotten a couple of free ebook cook books, and we use the recipes from them. Found a really good slow cooker recipe from the last ebook.

Leave a Reply

