10 Reasons to Love Organizing

I love to organize and know the benefits I reap from the exercise. If you are not the same, focus on the benefits of those unlikable tasks to get them done.

10 Reasons to Love Organizing

  1. Gain energy. Clutter isn’t just ugly, it’s exhausting. It’s just a reminder of things to do. Eliminate the tension by cleaning up the clutter.
  2. Improve safety. You’ll feel better knowing that your house is cleared of clutter that could cause a fall or other injury.
  3. Start your day happy. You’ll feel in control if you can start your day by getting dressed from a clutter-free closet and dresser.
  4. Gain more time. By knowing where things are you won’t waste time looking for items.
  5. Appreciate what you have. I often quote Peter Walsh to my clients, by saying “When everything is important, nothing is important.” Only keep items that means a great deal to you.
  6. Do less later. Cleaning your home usually starts with decluttering. By being proactive you eliminate that first step in cleaning.
  7. Enjoy more light. Cleaning the windows and lamp shades can give you a new outlook on your space.
  8. Get some exercise. Decluttering and organizing is hard work. Burn some calories by clearing some space.
  9. Be “company ready”. Eliminating clutter will go a long way to making your space ready to visitors.
  10. Take a tax deduction. Take your unwanted items to a charity and take a deduction on your taxes.
About Basic Organization

Basic Organization provides professional organizing services to busy families, business owners, down sizing seniors and the chronically disorganized. We can teach you the skills to get organized and live a more simplified life. By providing you with ideas, information, structure and solutions to help you regain control of your space, we can cure the chaos in you life!
This entry was posted in Residential Organizing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 10 Reasons to Love Organizing

  1. These are great reasons! If only I would do something about it now!!

  2. You can do it! Start small and have a goal.

  3. I’d better post this list on my refrigerator… and my closet door… and my other closet door… the two things that are the biggest for me are saving time (boy do I hate searching for stuff) and being “company ready”. I don’t get a lot of company but of course they’ll show up 100% of the time when my house looks like a wreck and I am torn between apologizing and pretending I have way more important things to do than clean!

    Believe it or not, I also find organizing/cleaning to be relaxing. Since I work at home, I like to get up during the day and do a chore here or there. It helps clear my head and gives me some thinking time. Not toilet-scrubbing chores but a little laundry folding or junk-drawer-sorting 🙂

    • Carol Lynn –
      Thanks for responding to the post. Reminders are always good.
      I like that you find organizing relaxing. So do I. And it sure feels good to finish a task, no matter how small.

Leave a Reply

