Vacation Planning and Organization

Today, I am excited to share an article by my colleague, Pierrette Ashcroft, founder of getOrganizedDC. She has more than 20 years of business experience organizing events and providing innovative solutions in homes and offices. She is committed to continuing her education and training to best serve her client’s organizing and productivity needs.

How I Prepare For Travel

A detailed packing list helps me plan and pack efficiently enough to fiteverything in a carry-on. I recently switched from spreadsheet style lists to the app Packing Pro.

There is more that goes into a vacation than the things that fit in my suitcase.

For trip planning I used a couple different websites.

On Trip Adviser we found a gem of a hotel in Stockholm. It’s been a great resource on several trips especially reading other travelers’ experiences.

This time I tried Stay.com to create a customized city guide of sights, restaurants and attractions. I could view a map pinned with the places I wanted to visit on my iPhone even though I didn’t have phone service.

Some people still need to hold a map in their hand. Crumbled Maps are made from an indestructible material that is lightweight, waterproof and meant to be scrunched up and stuffed in a bag. No more struggling to fold a paper version.

A few years ago my credit card was denied a mile from my house when I bought gas. Why? Purchases I made in Philadelphia triggered warning flags that my card was stolen. Lesson learned: always call my credit card company before traveling to let them know the dates, cities, states or countries I will be visiting.

No problems since but I still make copies of my credit cards, front and back. My account number is on one side and the phone numbers in case of a problem are on the other. Don’t store copies with the cards and maybe leave a copy with someone you trust.

Family Safe Holiday is an electronic storage site for records of passports, emergency numbers and credit card info in case the originals are lost or stolen. You can even authorize friends and family to access the information. Try it free for 6 weeks.

Thanks Pierrette and happy travels to you all!

About Basic Organization

Basic Organization provides professional organizing services to busy families, business owners, down sizing seniors and the chronically disorganized. We can teach you the skills to get organized and live a more simplified life. By providing you with ideas, information, structure and solutions to help you regain control of your space, we can cure the chaos in you life!
This entry was posted in Residential Organizing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

