New Office – The Slow Reveal

I recently redecorated my office. The project grew to a scale for which I was not prepared, so it’s taken me sometime to recover. I plan on slowly revealing the new decorating and organizing ideas that I incorporated into the space.

Today – My inspiration.

I bought this paper lantern at a church yard sale for 25 cents. I just thought the colors worked beautifully together. I held on to this shade for some time, thinking about whether I wanted to use this as my color palate for the office. I finally decided to go with it. My only plan with the shade was to hang it from the existing ceiling fan, which you see in the photo.

I wanted to add another light source to the room, since my friend Betty (an interior designer herself) told me that the room was too dark, so along with the ceiling fan-light, an ever-present task light on the desk, I added two other lights that sit behind my desk on the low bookcases.

The lamps have been living in my basement for years, so instead of purchasing new, I pulled these out and cleaned them off. I did have to purchase new shades.

Plain lamp + hot glue gun+ buttons I got inspiration for dressing up the lamp shades on Pinterest. Here’s the inspiration shade. . .

and here’s mine.

Pretty good. If I say so myself.

I also want to let you know that the renovations happened to the inner workings of the office as well. I purged files, emptied drawers and shelves. Eventually, reloading only what I need. Here’s one drawer that I am especially happy with. Sorry I didn’t take a “before” picture, but trust me, it needed a lot of help. These “junk drawer” organizers from Target are great. A place for everything and everything in it’s place.

I’ll be revealing more of the office redecorating soon.

About Basic Organization

Basic Organization provides professional organizing services to busy families, business owners, down sizing seniors and the chronically disorganized. We can teach you the skills to get organized and live a more simplified life. By providing you with ideas, information, structure and solutions to help you regain control of your space, we can cure the chaos in you life!
This entry was posted in Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

