My New Shoe Rack

by Basic Organization team member Tracy Wells

Recently I made a trip with my mom to visit “The Container Store” in Tysons Corner. We had a great time exploring and searching for ideas to assist our latest organizing projects. Really, it felt like a treasure hunt when we would find just the right product to give us a solution to our organizing dilemma  Over the next few months I plan to share with you some of my own personal organizing projects.

Today, I would like to start by sharing with you a solution for holding more shoes. Typically, a standard over door shoe rack holds 24 pairs of shoes. Well, that wasn’t working for me due to the fact that my mom likes to give me her new and barely used shoes. It just so happens that we wear the same size. The Container Store sells a 36 pair shoe rack for only $29.99, but it does require some assembly.  Try to give yourself about 20 minutes to assemble this. You will need a hammer and a flat surface to work on.

The directions for assembly are pretty straight forward. The first thing I did was remove my 24 pair shoe rack, then I got busy assembling. Overall, I am very pleased with this project because I was able to add 12 pairs of shoes on my door for the same space. Just so you know, this was not an endorsement to purchase more shoes!

About Basic Organization

Basic Organization provides professional organizing services to busy families, business owners, down sizing seniors and the chronically disorganized. We can teach you the skills to get organized and live a more simplified life. By providing you with ideas, information, structure and solutions to help you regain control of your space, we can cure the chaos in you life!
This entry was posted in Residential Organizing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

