A Freezer Reorganization

by Basic Organization team member Tracy Wells

Beware! You are about to feast your eyes on my previous freezer organizing system (keep in mind this is not Janet’s freezer). Was is working for my family? Sort of! Sort of NOT! I’m a busy working mother of 3 young children so things kind of got out of hand when I was in a rush (ever since baby #1). Behold though, I’m now a professional organizing  mom. I have a reputation to hold onto so off I went into the deep of my freezer. Hmmm….what exactly is in there and for how long??? Okay, well let’s take a peek (or not). Ohhh, there’s an extra set of waffles in there! I was looking for those last month. SOUND FAMILIAR?   You’re not the only one so relax!  How exactly did I conquer this latest project? What exactly was my strategy and goal?  Well in order to conquer this project I had to pull out every single freezer item onto my kitchen floor. Wow! What a big chronic disorganization problem when you see it out all over the floor. Glad the queen wasn’t stopping by at that exact time (or Janet).  My strategy was to have a place for everything and a system that would be easy for my children to follow. So take a look at the pictures and see the results.

My children have always had a large variety of frozen breakfast items. One problem is that when you open the box air will soon stale the food and cause freezer burn. Also, those large boxed items just took up to much space in my freezer. I decided to use freezer bags and freezer plastic containers to transfer certain food items like: waffles, pancakes, corn dogs, french fries (after you open the bag), frozen chicken strips, etc… On the outside I would label them and write cooking instructions when necessary. Once I decided where to put everything I knew that we would keep this system. For instance, one whole shelf is for the breakfast items. Above that shelf I posted a 3×5 index card on the outside of the shelf labeling exactly what belonged on that shelf. If we want to delete or add another item to that shelf we just write it on the card or cross it off. Pretty simple! I actually was able to bring more food items up from my basement freezer and add them to this freezer. Now can you believe that? It’s true! That is what organizing does. It creates space and clarity!

About Basic Organization

Basic Organization provides professional organizing services to busy families, business owners, down sizing seniors and the chronically disorganized. We can teach you the skills to get organized and live a more simplified life. By providing you with ideas, information, structure and solutions to help you regain control of your space, we can cure the chaos in you life!
This entry was posted in Residential Organizing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

