Start a Christmas Ornament Collection for Your Kids

By Basic Organization team member Debbie Baker.

Maybe a shocking article subject for a professional organizer – actually encouraging people to collect? But I may be an anomaly as a professional organizer – I actually love stuff. I think I can fill up an empty space faster than anybody I know! And I adore Christmas stuff! I find it very hard to resist holiday decorations, particularly Christmas ornaments. Maybe that’s why I decided, when my two girls were infants, to begin an ornament collection for them both. Every year I would buy them each an ornament and, in an inconspicuous spot and in a coordinating permanent marker color, I would write their initials and the year.  When my older daughter graduated from college and started putting up her own tree she took home her ornaments, and she has a great little collection, with ornaments that mean a lot to her. In a few years my younger daughter will be doing the same thing. And guess what – that will free up space in my ornament storage boxes for me to do more ornament shopping. Yay!

The point is that stuff isn’t the enemy. It is wonderful to have beautiful things that you love, that you love to display, that have meaning to you.  But ONLY have what you love, what you use, what you can keep organized, and store comfortably. And if that includes a special Christmas ornament collection for your children, that is A-okay with this professional organizer!

About Basic Organization

Basic Organization provides professional organizing services to busy families, business owners, down sizing seniors and the chronically disorganized. We can teach you the skills to get organized and live a more simplified life. By providing you with ideas, information, structure and solutions to help you regain control of your space, we can cure the chaos in you life!
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Residential Organizing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

