Waste Time, Not Life

I just read an article by Harold Taylor (the Time Management Guru) and wanted to share some of his thoughts with you.

“Life is not measured in minutes and seconds, but in activities and events. . . I don’t think of my past as a series of minutes well utilized, but as a series of times well spent.  My memories are not of time but of times.  I’m more concerned with being than doing.

This is not to say that time management is not important; but the emphasis should be on managing our lives, not our minutes.”

Mr. Taylor’s words got me thinking about how I am spending my time. When I get busy, I mean really busy the important people and things seem to slip away. I (too often) miss dinner with my family or just a conversation with my mom. But, then again, when am I not really busy? All the activities and responsibilities seem to creep up until I end my days tired and talked out. Sometimes this is a good feeling, but as it becomes an everyday activity, it become debilitating. I’ll look around and say to myself “what happened to my life? When was the last time I read a book, went out with friends or did something creative (crafty)”. Making time for ME in my life will only make me stronger and happier. You don’t have to worry about me though – book club meeting tonight and dinner with friends on the calendar!

For more information on time management visit Harold’s web site, TaylorTime.com

About Basic Organization

Basic Organization provides professional organizing services to busy families, business owners, down sizing seniors and the chronically disorganized. We can teach you the skills to get organized and live a more simplified life. By providing you with ideas, information, structure and solutions to help you regain control of your space, we can cure the chaos in you life!
This entry was posted in Time Management and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

