What are Your Toys?

I recently read some excerpts from FabJob Guide to Become a Professional Organizer by Grace Jasmine. I like to look over  past reading to brush up sometimes.

One section of the book on working with clients, talked about using a four-grid system to determine the four categories of possessions: Treasures, Trash, Tools and Toys.

  1. Treasures are things with high emotional value, but low function.
  2. Trash is anything with no function or emotional value.
  3. Tools are things with a function, but low (or no) emotional value.
  4. Toys are anything that you use and that evoke an emotion in you.

The category that most intrigues me is TOYS. Reading this section got me thinking. . . what are my top 5 toys? Things I use and enjoy. Here’s my list.

  1. My car. It’s new and exactly what I wanted, so that makes me so happy. It also gets my from point A to point B.
  2. My TV. Sorry, I love TV. Functionally, entertaining.
  3. My screened porch. Mosquitos love me, so the fact that I can enjoy the outdoors and not get eatin’ alive is great – very functional. I love how peaceful it is there as well.
  4. My time. Something a little esoteric. I plan my time and schedule everything, because I love “free time”. The thought of having nothing to do right now is priceless to me. OK, maybe time isn’t an object, but I wanted to include it.
  5. My kitchen. I like to cook. It’s my way of being creative. So I appreciate how the appliances function. They allow my to enjoy myself while I am cooking dinner and that makes my feel good.

Just so we are straight. My list (just like the book was talking about) is about objects. I love my family, very emotional about that. They are also somewhat functional too!

I appreciate all these things on my list and many more. I think it’s all about living consciously and appreciating what you have. What are your toys?

About Basic Organization

Basic Organization provides professional organizing services to busy families, business owners, down sizing seniors and the chronically disorganized. We can teach you the skills to get organized and live a more simplified life. By providing you with ideas, information, structure and solutions to help you regain control of your space, we can cure the chaos in you life!
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

