Sensational Snack Organizing

By Basic Organization team member Tracy Wells.
Recently I decided to try a new diet. I knew I needed to surround myself with healthier food choices. Having 3 younger children who like ice cream and can eat anything without gaining any weight can wreak havoc on any diet because there is so much temptation. The only way to break that temptation for me is to have healthy snack options that are quick and convenient. This takes a certain amount of discipline as well. It also takes quite a bit of planning and time to prepare the snacks. I have found that this new method is working for me. I have involved my children in the process as well and they are welcome to eat any of the snacks if they wish. I also allow them to make healthy snack requests before I head off to the grocery.
IMG_20140328_145655The first thing I did was buy a lot of Ziploc snack size bags. I also purchased some small plastic containers for dressings, hummus, peanut butter, yogurt, etc..  Before I went to the store I made a list of fruits and vegetables that I thought would be good for snacks.  I purchased those and when I arrived at home I washed them and cut them into small snack IMG_20140328_145752size pieces that would go into the snack bags.  Inside my refrigerator I have clear plastic trays. One holds the fruit snacks and the other holds the vegetable snacks. So now when I am hungry I go for something fresh and it’s quick and easy because it’s already prepared to go. Below is a list of the snacks that I recently purchased over the last 2 weeks. I would like for other people to comment on this blog and let me know what easy healthy snacks you like to prepare. The more ideas the better!
Snack size bag ideas:
  1. a mixed bag of red, green, purple grapes
  2. strawberry/blueberry mix
  3. blackberries
  4. orange slices
  5. pineapple chunks
  6. carrots
  7. celery sticks
  8. red/green/yellow peppers
  9. cucumber slices
  10. cherry tomatoes
  11. I also have apples on hand but I cut those as desired
Small plastic containers for the condiments  (as desired):
  1. hummus
  2. natural peanut or almond butter/PB2
  3. yogurt
  4. no fat dressing
  5. 1 wedge of laughing cow 35 calorie cheese
Have a happy and healthy snack…guilt free!!
About Basic Organization

Basic Organization provides professional organizing services to busy families, business owners, down sizing seniors and the chronically disorganized. We can teach you the skills to get organized and live a more simplified life. By providing you with ideas, information, structure and solutions to help you regain control of your space, we can cure the chaos in you life!
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Residential Organizing, Time Management and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

