Most People . . .

I wanted to share my thoughts that were recently posted on the NAPO-WDC blog.
Most People . . .
  • are not going to call.
  •  are not going to read the writing.
  • are afraid to take action.
  • are too busy to do the work.
  • won’t talk about it.
  • think they can’t afford it.
  • don’t care enough.

Are these your prospects? Do you want to spend your time trying to convert them to clients? Or should you be working on better appreciating the clients you already have? The clients who talk about their experience with you (and refer their friends) are not the people described above. They are not most people.

Look at the list at the top again. Maybe it describes you. Are you doing all you can do to be the best organizer/business owner you can be? Do you take the actions necessary to be considered an expert? It’s a matter of talking the talk and walking the walk. How do you want your clients or even your prospects to think of you? What you expect of yourself should be no less than what you expect of your clients. Make the call, Do the work, Read the writing, Take action!

About Basic Organization

Basic Organization provides professional organizing services to busy families, business owners, down sizing seniors and the chronically disorganized. We can teach you the skills to get organized and live a more simplified life. By providing you with ideas, information, structure and solutions to help you regain control of your space, we can cure the chaos in you life!
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Most People . . .

  1. What a great message! Sometimes I feel like I’m being lazy because I don’t spend a lot of time following up with prospects, but you’ve confirmed that I’m just being practical. My time is better spent nurturing the clients I already have, making sure their needs are being met and suggesting other ways I can help them, than chasing after people who don’t can’t afford (or are unwilling to pay) my fees, or aren’t convinced it’s worth it to outsource work to an expert rather than trying to do it all themselves.

    • Janet, thanks for replying. Small business owners are pulled in all directions and have to decide where to best spend their time. Outsourcing to an expert like you, is money well spent. It creates time to focus on the tasks that must be done by the business owner. Spending time on unlikely prospects could be used for a more important task.

  2. Energy is always best allocated to relationships where you and your services are appreciated and valued. Thanks, Janet for the reminder.

  3. Linda, I am reading “The 80/20 Principle” now and it preaches exactly that. Focus 80 percent of your energy on the top 20 percent of your relationships (whether business or personal). A good practice.

  4. I’ve just added it to my “Want to Read” list on Goodreads. That list is getting too long!

  5. It is a good read. I am now trying to incorporate it into my business life.

  6. A great reminder that we do have to do the work, that there is no magic pill, that our steps to success are what get us there, not just thinking we want it. Love the reminder of pausing to appreciate what we have, before we move onto the next “new thing.” Thanks, Janet.

    • Thanks for your thoughts Sue. I totally agree with you. I have a quote from Zig Ziglar taped to my computer monitor that says, “People who won’t take step number one, never take step number two.” It’s there to remind me that I am the only person that can move myself forward.

  7. Tracy Hoth says:

    Great reminder, Janet. I have been sending notes to my new clients who I have loved meeting and working with. Now I need to go back and send some great notes (or calls) to previous clients!!

  8. I haven’t read the book either (didn’t know there was one), but I LOVE the 80/20 Rule, and have identified my top 20% clients. Need to pay more attention to them, though, as I think they may be more special in my mind than they are in practice!

    • Hazel, My company has been practicing one act of kindness each day towards our clients. Usually it’ a quick email, card or phone call. With really no intention but words of encouragement. We haven’t been doing it long, but I think it is working well. The work is shared over my entire team, so it doesn’t take much time out of the day. Being creative.

      • Yes, I think it’s important to sometimes have no ulterior motive (such as a special offer or a new service to advertise) other than checking in with the client, which I do, but resolve to do more often!

  9. Jill says:

    I am going to institute the one act of kindness a day! Thank you for this post!

Leave a comment